ICC Announced Cricket world Cup 2011 Group Details

October 7, 4.37 PM IST

International Cricket Council (ICC) just announced group details of world cup 2011 which will be held in Asia (India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh). Pakistan is kept out of hosting country of world cup cause of security reasons. ICC_World_Cup_2011_300ICC panel visited Pakistan after theMarch 2009 attack on Sri Lankan Cricket team and they found situations are not suitable to give them hosting for world cup 2011. Most of the matches of world cup 2011 will be held in India and few matches in Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

Teams are divided into 2 Groups this time and each group has 7 teams. India is kept in group B along with England, West Indies and Pakistan as major teams, where as 3 times world cup Champion Australia, world cup 2007 runner up Sri Lanka, Pakistan are kept in Group A.

Group Details for Cricket World Cup 2011 as given below:

Group A Teams

  1. Australia
  2. Pakistan
  3. Srilanka
  4. New Zealand
  5. Zimbabwe
  6. Canada
  7. Kenya

Group B Teams

  1. India
  2. South Africa
  3. England
  4. West Indies
  5. Bangladesh
  6. Ireland
  7. Netherlands

We can see relatively India is kept in easier group and I hope we will use this advantage and will win the world cup 2011.