India beaten New Zealand by 105 runs to enter in Final of Micromax Cup

The Indian team has now booked their place in finals of the tri series tournament after defeating the Kiwis by 105 runs at the Rangiri International Stadium in Sri Lanka yesterday. Virendra Sehwag gave the 110 runs from 93 balls, adding to his 13th ODI century. He actually lifted the Indian team from the mere 66 runs for four to the grand score of 223 in 46.3 overs.

With India winning in the match to move to the finals with 10 points on their side, they will face the Sri Lankans with 11 points on Saturday i.e. 28th of August 2010. On the other hand, New Zealand scored 118 runs in 30.1 overs all out. Kyle Mills seemed to be the top scorer having 52 runs.

Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh and Dinesh Karthik failed to have the double figure scores however Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Sehwag shared the 107 runs to take their team to the score of 223.

Also, Praveen Kumar, the medium pacer from the Indian side grabbed 3 wickets at an early stage. Moreover, Munaf Patel bagged 3 for 21 as the other side slumped from 22 for 4 in their 9th over to the mark of 53 for 8 in their 23rd over.

India has thus shown that they actually took the “prove or perish” challenge seriously in this match to enter into the Micromax tri series finals with the Sri Lankans.

Here is Final Scorecard of India vs New Zealand Match.