India vs. Afghanistan T20 World Cup 201 2: Live Score & Match Updates

India now needs to decide fast on the team combination as they come and perform in the ICC World T20 2012 campaign against Afghanistan today in Colombo. The Indian side is all hoping to get into groove for tougher battles in the tournament.

In the past, India has beaten the Afghanistan team very comfortably and during last World T20, they beat the opponents with 7 wickets in West Indies. Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the captain who is best known for tinkering with playing XI and he believes in offering the preferred players the long rope. The Indian batting side looks settled with opening pair Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gamhir, the powerful middle order having Virat Kohli, Dhoni and Yuvraj Singh. It will thus be very exciting to watch what type of bowling Dhoni will use today against Afghanistan.

Indian side is faced with dilemma of whether they should go with 5 specialist bowlers or go with additional batsman, given the fact that bowling in death overs has always been a topic of worry for the team.

On the other side, because of lack of big names, unity of Afghanistan team has always served as their biggest strength. Talking about the T20 format, this will surely enable the players from their team to shock the big teams as well this time. So, India cannot just relax and need to play really well.

With presence of Noor Ali, Mohammad Shahzad, the Afghanistan contingent seems strong in their batting side. Javed Ahmadi and Karim Sadiq will also lend stability as well as balance to the team. Dawlat Zardan will further play a very important part because he is someone who is looked up at as the player who offers early breakthrough.India vs Afghanistan

Last but not least, Indian’s performance will depend largely on the way Kohli performs at his Position No. 3. This is seen as something positive because as of now, he has serves as the architect of most of ODI victories for the team India.

Likely teams:


India Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Manoj Tiwary, Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh, Ashok Dinda.


Afghanistan Squad: Nawroz Mangal (capt), Asghar Stanikzai, Dawlat Zadran, Gulbodin Naib, Hamid Hassan, Izatullah Dawlatzai, Javed Ahmadi, Karim Sadiq, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Shahzad, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nasim Baras, Samiullah Shenwari, Shafiqullah, Shapoor Zadran.

India vs. Afghanistan Live Score

You can get all live cricket score right here and you can also check complete scorecard match ball by ball commentary, audio bytes etc on our website.

For All T20 World Cup 2012 Updates Visit our Partner Site