India vs South Korea HockeyFinal Live -Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2010

The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup has its final showdown on Sunday. Australia being the world champion couldn’t make it this year. India will be competing with South Korea in IPOH Malaysia.

Indian team qualified for the final match after thrashing Egypt 7-1, Indians were on number one position with 13 points. The first hat-trick of the tournament was made by Indian player dhananjay mandip with a goal in 34, 40 and 42nd minutes.

Whereas rajpal singh, rupinder pal singh, tushar khandker and sarvanjit singh were among the other high scorers.

Egypt scored just 1 goal and that too in the 68th minute. The goal was scored by Ahmed Abdul El Hakim. The Indian hockey team was followed by three other teams. The three teams scored 11 points each. In order to make it to the finals South Korea had a better score as compared to Malaysia and Australia. Because of the difference in goal South Korea made it to the finals to compete with India.

The Korean team won the game with Pakistan by scoring a two goal difference. They defeated Pakistan with 4-2. This match however turned to be bit chaotic as in the last few minute’s two red cards were given to Pakistan and were also given a penalty stroke.

Mohamed Imran the Pakistan skipper said that the umpiring was bad and the decisions were also terrible, it could be seen clearly that it was not a penalty stroke but still it was given by the umpire. And he also said that it was not the only match where the umpire had made a mistake. It was a careless decision by the umpire and it was unjust on their behalf as the Pakistan team had spent a lot of money and time to attend this tournament. This is unjust and the team players were in almost in tears at the end of the game. Mohamed Imran and Mohamed Zubair scored a goal in the 57th and32nd minute.

Here are the squads of India and South Korea:

India Squad

Rajpal Singh (captain), Amit Prabhakar, Rupinder Pal Singh, Arjun Halappa, Prabohd Tirkey, Dhananjay Mahdik, Sardar Singh, Mandip Antil, Ravi Pal, Sarvanjit Singh, Bharat Chetri (GK), Gurbaj Singh, Tushar Khandker, Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran (GK), Vikas Vishnu Pillay, Shivendra Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Bharat.

South Korea Squad

Lee Myung Ho (GK), Lee Seung Il, Ro Jong Hwan, Nam Hyun Woo, Lee Nam Yong, Cho Suk Hoon, Jung Hwan Uk, Yoon Sung Hoon, You Hyo Sik, Yang Soo Hyuk, Jin Kyung Min, Oh Dae Keun, Shin Yong Ho, Hong Eun Seong, Yoo Min Ho, Kim Young Jin, Kim Yong Bae, Lee Seung Hoon

Match Timing :- The matchstart at 20:35 local time (12:35 GMT). As per the Indian time, the match begins at 18:05. In South Korea the match starts at 21:35.

Go India Go, and make us proud.

Update 20.00 IST :- India and South Korea are declared combined winner of  Azlan Shah Cup 2010 as match could not take place due to rain. Finally a good news for Indian sports and Indian Hockey.